An unfortunate car accident can derail someone’s life. Negligent driving, speeding, drunk driving, aggressive driving – These are some of the common causes of car accidents. If you ever have the misfortune of getting involved in one, you should at least know the basic car accident laws in Missouri. Besides seeking help, it is usually advisable to consult an experienced Jefferson City MO car accident attorney, so that you don’t make a mistake because of the trauma. Here’s more on accident laws in Missouri.
Like many other states, Missouri follows the at-fault rule. This means that drivers are required to have liability insurance, and in case their action behind the wheel causes injuries to someone else, their insurance company will have to pay the victim. In this context, the concept of “comparative negligence” is also important. If you were a victim of someone’s negligence but also share a blame in causing the car accident, your share of compensation will reduce by that percentage. For instance, if you were to receive $100,000 in compensation and you are found to be 30% responsible for the accident, you will only get $70,000.
However, there is one difference. In many states, you cannot claim compensation for your injuries and suffering if you are more than 50% at fault, but that’s not the cause in Missouri. Here, you can ask for compensation even if you share 80% of the blame. Also, Missouri has a statute of limitations, which allows five years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit.
Do you need a lawyer?
While there is no law that states that you have to hire a car accident attorney in Missouri, you should consider consulting one. Your lawyer is the best person to guide you further on the various things you can do. For example, if the insurance company doesn’t offer you a fair settlement, your lawyer can help you decide on filing a personal injury lawsuit. Remember that insurance companies and other parties are not interested in you, so you need a lawyer who can protect your rights.
Things to know
Right after an accident, never admit your fault right away, even if you think that you may have a role in the entire situation. Secondly, make sure that you file a formal police report. Filing the insurance claim should be done as early as possible.
Check online now to find more on the best-rated Missouri lawyers for car accident cases.